Skip to content
New issue

Have a question about this project? Sign up for a free GitHub account to open an issue and contact its maintainers and the community.

By clicking “Sign up for GitHub”, you agree to our terms of service and privacy statement. We’ll occasionally send you account related emails.

Already on GitHub? Sign in to your account

Quick way to get FT-300 Values via ROS #11

Open
iameijaz opened this issue Jan 3, 2024 · 14 comments
Open

Quick way to get FT-300 Values via ROS #11

iameijaz opened this issue Jan 3, 2024 · 14 comments

Comments

@iameijaz
Copy link

iameijaz commented Jan 3, 2024

Is there any quick or working method to get the FT-300 Sensor values from the FT-300 sensor that is attached to a UR-5 Robot.
I prefer ROS Noetic but I am open to ROS Melodic as well. also a way to control the gripper and its position as well.

@felixvd
Copy link
Contributor

felixvd commented Jan 3, 2024

I assume you mean the FT-300 sensor cable is connected to the UR robot/control box. Yes, if the URCap installed, the signal is available on the tool comm interface IIRC and should be published by the UR driver. We used it in this assembly project.

The relevant files should be this launch file and this config file. Hope that helps.

@iameijaz
Copy link
Author

iameijaz commented Jan 3, 2024

Did you use ROS Noetic or Melodic?

@felixvd
Copy link
Contributor

felixvd commented Jan 3, 2024

I believe it was Melodic, but from memory those packages should work on Noetic just as well.

@iameijaz
Copy link
Author

iameijaz commented Jan 3, 2024

I tried to install the robotiq library but was constantly getting an error while catkin_make related to a hardware_interface.cpp and some SplineTrajectory being undefined..

I will try installing the package you've sent then I will let you know

@iameijaz
Copy link
Author

iameijaz commented Jan 3, 2024

I have cloned the repo you've sent, and after running catkin_make_isolated (I have the Universal Robot repo pkgs already there):

This is the error that I am getting:
`<== Failed to process package 'aist_camera_multiplexer':
Command '['cmake', '/home/vbt/master_ws/src/o2ac-ur/catkin_ws/src/aist_modules/aist_camera_multiplexer', '-DCATKIN_DEVEL_PREFIX=/home/vbt/master_ws/devel_isolated/aist_camera_multiplexer', '-DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/home/vbt/master_ws/install_isolated', '-G', 'Unix Makefiles']' returned non-zero exit status 1.

Reproduce this error by running:
`

And when I try to run rosdep :

vbt@verbit-machine:~/master_ws$ rosdep install --from-paths src --ignore-src -y 
ERROR: the following packages/stacks could not have their rosdep keys resolved
to system dependencies:
o2ac_visualization: Cannot locate rosdep definition for [opencv3]
o2ac_gazebo: Cannot locate rosdep definition for [robotiq_gazebo]
o2ac_routines: Cannot locate rosdep definition for [o2ac_usb_relay]
o2ac_task_planning_pddl_converter: Cannot locate rosdep definition for [o2ac_assembly_handler]
o2ac_skills: Cannot locate rosdep definition for [robotiq_msgs]
o2ac_examples: Cannot locate rosdep definition for [robotiq_msgs]

I made a new workspace(ie moved the other packages out of it from src folder), on Noetic, to test it seperately, then this is what I got:

vbt@verbit-machine:~/master_ws$ rosdep install --from-paths src --ignore-src -y
ERROR: the following packages/stacks could not have their rosdep keys resolved
to system dependencies:
o2ac_gazebo: Cannot locate rosdep definition for [robotiq_gazebo]
o2ac_examples: Cannot locate rosdep definition for [robotiq_msgs]
o2ac_skills: Cannot locate rosdep definition for [robotiq_msgs]
o2ac_visualization: Cannot locate rosdep definition for [opencv3]
o2ac_task_planning_pddl_converter: Cannot locate rosdep definition for [o2ac_assembly_handler]
o2ac_routines: Cannot locate rosdep definition for [o2ac_usb_relay]

@felixvd
Copy link
Contributor

felixvd commented Jan 3, 2024

You don't need to install the whole project, you can just take inspiration from the relevant part. It sounds like something is not set up correctly in your workspace though. I'll just note that there are detailed installation instructions and scripts for running the workspace in a docker container.

@iameijaz
Copy link
Author

iameijaz commented Jan 3, 2024

I just want the FT-300 values on my laptop from UR5.

@iameijaz
Copy link
Author

iameijaz commented Jan 3, 2024

You don't need to install the whole project, you can just take inspiration from the relevant part. It sounds like something is not set up correctly in your workspace though. I'll just note that there are detailed installation instructions and scripts for running the workspace in a docker container.

Will check this out and let you know

@felixvd
Copy link
Contributor

felixvd commented Jan 3, 2024 via email

@iameijaz
Copy link
Author

iameijaz commented Jan 3, 2024

alright, Thanks. I will check it and let you know.

@iameijaz
Copy link
Author

iameijaz commented Jan 3, 2024

while, following the instructions, 2nd step,

i got the following error:

cd ~/ && git clone https://github.com/o2ac/o2ac-ur.git && cd ~/o2ac-ur/ && git submodule update --init
Cloning into 'o2ac-ur'...
remote: Enumerating objects: 24368, done.
remote: Counting objects: 100% (2214/2214), done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (1513/1513), done.
remote: Total 24368 (delta 642), reused 2145 (delta 628), pack-reused 22154
Receiving objects: 100% (24368/24368), 101.92 MiB | 1.14 MiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (13716/13716), done.
Updating files: 100% (2150/2150), done.
Submodule 'github-wiki' (https://github.com/o2ac/o2ac-ur.wiki.git) registered for path 'github-wiki'
Submodule 'underlay_ws/src/downward' (http://gitlab+deploy-token-440735:[email protected]/sinicx/robotics/on-going/downward.git) registered for path 'underlay_ws/src/downward'
Submodule 'underlay_ws/src/moveit' (http://gitlab+deploy-token-440693:[email protected]/o2ac/moveit.git) registered for path 'underlay_ws/src/moveit'
Submodule 'underlay_ws/src/moveit_msgs' (https://github.com/felixvd/moveit_msgs) registered for path 'underlay_ws/src/moveit_msgs'
Submodule 'underlay_ws/src/moveit_task_constructor' (http://gitlab+deploy-token-440692:[email protected]/o2ac/moveit-task-constructor.git) registered for path 'underlay_ws/src/moveit_task_constructor'
Submodule 'underlay_ws/src/third_party/ddynamic_reconfigure' (http://gitlab+deploy-token-440688:[email protected]/o2ac/third-party/ddynamic_reconfigure) registered for path 'underlay_ws/src/third_party/ddynamic_reconfigure'
Submodule 'underlay_ws/src/third_party/realsense-ros' (http://gitlab+deploy-token-440688:[email protected]/o2ac/third-party/realsense-ros) registered for path 'underlay_ws/src/third_party/realsense-ros'
Submodule 'underlay_ws/src/third_party/robotiq-cri' (http://gitlab+deploy-token-440688:[email protected]/o2ac/third-party/robotiq-cri) registered for path 'underlay_ws/src/third_party/robotiq-cri'
Submodule 'underlay_ws/src/third_party/universal_robot' (http://gitlab+deploy-token-440688:[email protected]/o2ac/third-party/universal_robot) registered for path 'underlay_ws/src/third_party/universal_robot'
Submodule 'underlay_ws/src/third_party/ur_drivers' (https://github.com/felixvd/Universal_Robots_ROS_Driver.git) registered for path 'underlay_ws/src/third_party/ur_drivers'
Submodule 'underlay_ws/src/ur_python_utilities' (http://gitlab+deploy-token-440688:[email protected]/o2ac/third-party/ur_python_utilities.git) registered for path 'underlay_ws/src/ur_python_utilities'
Cloning into '/home/vbt/o2ac-ur/github-wiki'...
Cloning into '/home/vbt/o2ac-ur/underlay_ws/src/downward'...
remote: HTTP Basic: Access denied. The provided password or token is incorrect or your account has 2FA enabled and you must use a personal access token instead of a password. See https://gitlab.com/help/topics/git/troubleshooting_git#error-on-git-fetch-http-basic-access-denied
fatal: Authentication failed for 'http://gitlab.com/sinicx/robotics/on-going/downward.git/'
fatal: clone of 'http://gitlab+deploy-token-440735:[email protected]/sinicx/robotics/on-going/downward.git' into submodule path '/home/vbt/o2ac-ur/underlay_ws/src/downward' failed
Failed to clone 'underlay_ws/src/downward'. Retry scheduled
Cloning into '/home/vbt/o2ac-ur/underlay_ws/src/moveit'...
warning: redirecting to https://gitlab.com/o2ac/moveit.git/
Cloning into '/home/vbt/o2ac-ur/underlay_ws/src/moveit_msgs'...
Cloning into '/home/vbt/o2ac-ur/underlay_ws/src/moveit_task_constructor'...
warning: redirecting to https://gitlab.com/o2ac/moveit-task-constructor.git/
Cloning into '/home/vbt/o2ac-ur/underlay_ws/src/third_party/ddynamic_reconfigure'...
warning: redirecting to https://gitlab.com/o2ac/third-party/ddynamic_reconfigure.git/
Cloning into '/home/vbt/o2ac-ur/underlay_ws/src/third_party/realsense-ros'...
warning: redirecting to https://gitlab.com/o2ac/third-party/realsense-ros.git/
Cloning into '/home/vbt/o2ac-ur/underlay_ws/src/third_party/robotiq-cri'...
warning: redirecting to https://gitlab.com/o2ac/third-party/robotiq-cri.git/
Cloning into '/home/vbt/o2ac-ur/underlay_ws/src/third_party/universal_robot'...
warning: redirecting to https://gitlab.com/o2ac/third-party/universal_robot.git/
Cloning into '/home/vbt/o2ac-ur/underlay_ws/src/third_party/ur_drivers'...
Cloning into '/home/vbt/o2ac-ur/underlay_ws/src/ur_python_utilities'...
warning: redirecting to https://gitlab.com/o2ac/third-party/ur_python_utilities.git/
Cloning into '/home/vbt/o2ac-ur/underlay_ws/src/downward'...
remote: HTTP Basic: Access denied. The provided password or token is incorrect or your account has 2FA enabled and you must use a personal access token instead of a password. See https://gitlab.com/help/topics/git/troubleshooting_git#error-on-git-fetch-http-basic-access-denied
fatal: Authentication failed for 'http://gitlab.com/sinicx/robotics/on-going/downward.git/'
fatal: clone of 'http://gitlab+deploy-token-440735:[email protected]/sinicx/robotics/on-going/downward.git' into submodule path '/home/vbt/o2ac-ur/underlay_ws/src/downward' failed
Failed to clone 'underlay_ws/src/downward' a second time, aborting

@iameijaz
Copy link
Author

iameijaz commented Jan 3, 2024

I believe it is due to my expired token for authentication.

@felixvd
Copy link
Contributor

felixvd commented Jan 3, 2024

I don't think that package is open anymore so it needs to be updated, but I can't do it in the near future. Either delete the submodule or just create an empty workspace from scratch with just the relevant packages. That's all I can do at the moment.

@iameijaz
Copy link
Author

iameijaz commented Jan 3, 2024

what if I cd to the catkin_ws inside this pkg and then work inside it?

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment
Labels
None yet
Projects
None yet
Development

No branches or pull requests

2 participants